classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Discipling the "Ordinary."

Noey
Introduction.

This lesson gives me mixed feelings. For almost 35 years I was a member of the Adventist Church in Manassas, Virginia. When I joined, the church leaders immediately asked me to be an elder. I challenged them: "Why should I be an elder? Because I'm a lawyer?" On the other hand, I've been involved in many evangelistic outreaches in Manassas. No effort was ever made to bring in educated "professional class" members. We never converted anyone with a Ph.D or professional doctorate. Church always seemed this bizarre mix. We would never target professionals for conversion, but if we had a professional in the church, they were almost always made a leader. What does the Bible say, if anything, about these kinds of issues? Let's plunge into our study and find out!

http://ssnet.org/lessons/14a/less06.html

Noey
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Discipling the "Ordinary."

Noey
The environment that Jesus was raised in doesn't seem to fit a lot of our visions of it. First is that Nazareth was very small, the latest population estimate being something less than 480 people (Wikipedia article on Nazareth). Second is that even though Galilee had a mixed population Nazareth was apparently one of the few towns that was totally Jewish or nearly so (ibid.). Probably because of that it had a synagogue (Lk 4:16).

In spite of its strong Jewish culture the town apparently had a bad reputation (Jn 1:46) which became evident when they tried to kill Jesus (Lk 4:28-29). They would not believe Him (Mk 6:4-6) because of familiarity with His family, in fact, even His own family generally didn't believe him (Jn 7:5) which included James who later became the head of the church (Acts 15; Acts 21:8; Gal 1:19; Gal 2:9).